This article provides information on how to promote or demote Admins for Group and Subgroup administrative purposes.


TABLE OF CONTENTS



Set Users as Admin

Advanced Version


One Admin can set any User as another Admin of Groups or Subgroup and there is no limit to the number of Admins per Group. Several Admins can take care of the right people having access to the right data and thus share the responsibility.


To set Users as Admin in Labfolder, please follow the steps below:

  1. Go to MANAGE > Groups
  2. Click on the group in which the User is a member. If the person you wish to promote is not part of the (Sub-)Group yet, you need to first invite as new member. 
  3. Click on the Gearwheel, present on the right-hand side when hovering over the member. 
  4. Click on Set member as Admin



Denominate Admins

Advanced Version


To denominate an Admin, the steps are all identical to setting a User as Admin, except for the last one.

To denominate Admins in Labfolder, please follow the steps below:

  1. Go to MANAGE > Groups.
  2. Click on the Group in which the User is a member. 
  3. Click on the Gearwheel present on the right-hand side when hovering over the member. 
  4. Click on Remove member as Admin



Move Users between Subgroups

Advanced Version


Administrators are able to drag and drop Users into different Subgroups within the same Group. When authorized, a User can be a member of several subgroups.


To move Users within Subgroups in Labfolder, please follow the steps below:

  1. Go to MANAGE > Groups
  2. Click on the Group in which the User is a member.
  3. Click and hold the mouse button on the member you want to move. 
    1. As soon as you click on the corresponding person, a window with the name in blue color appears. The User can now be dropped in Subgroups with a pale green background. 
  4. Drop the member into the desired Subgroup. 
    1. By hovering over the desired Subgroup the background color changes from pale green to blue.
  5. You can now see the changed structure. 


Note: Only members without Admin rights can be moved between Subgroups.



Remove Users

Group members can be removed from Labfolder when necessary (e.g. a person leaves the laboratory). All the content created by the User (entries, projects, and templates) will remain in the Group and the license from this User can later be reused. Once removed from the Group, the member no longer has access to the Group content. However, if the removed member downloaded the entries or projects before leaving the Group, he/she would retain access to a copy of these data.


Note: If the User is an owner of Folders, projects or templates, you need to change their ownership to another person in the Labfolder Group. This also applies to the hidden. To ensure intellectual property protection all data entries remain under the original authors name and can at no point be altered.


To remove a User from a Group in Labfolder:

  1. Go to MANAGE > Groups
  2. Click on the Group in which the User is a member.

  3. Click on the Gearwheel present on the right-hand side when hovering over the member. 
  4. Click on Remove member from Group
  5. Once the dialogue is opened, click on REMOVE