Our ELN restricts the removal of members who own projects, folders, and templates because of the traditional practice that notes taken for a collaborative project always stay with the group while researchers come and go. To remove any user, you will therefore need to transfer the project ownership as well as the template and folder ownership to another member who will remain in the group. Only when all the projects are transferred, including even the hidden ones, will the member be removable. This is to ensure that no research data gets lost.


Note: Please, make sure that the users that are going to be removed may export their respective content prior to the removal process described in this article.


Follow these steps to remove a ready-to-leave member:

  1. Go to the MANAGE > Groups.

  1. Open the group you wish to change.

  1. Hover over the member you wish to remove and click on the gearwheel that appears to the right.

  1. Select Remove member from the group.


Note: Find more information on Group management in this article, please.